2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of McMahon (NSW) (formerly Prospect)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Sir William McMahon (1908–1988), 20th Prime Minister of Australia 1971–1972.
168 sq km
Location Description:
McMahon is bound by South Creek in the west, the north boundary follows the Western Motorway, Ropes Creek and the Great Western Highway. The eastern boundary follows Centenary Road, Merrylands Road, Oxford Street, Woodville Road, Fairfield St, Pine Road, Prospect Creek and Orphan School Creek. The southern boundary follows King Road, Polding Street, Mimosa Road, The Horsley Road, Cowpasture Road, part of the western boundary of Abbotsbury, the westlink M7 motorway and Elizabeth Drive. Suburbs include Canley Vale, Eastern Creek, Fairfield, Fairfield West, Guildford (part), Huntingwood, Kemps Creek, Merrylands, Minchinbury, Mount Vernon, Old Guildford, Orchard Hills, Pemulwuy, Smithfield, South Wentworthville, St Clair, Wetherill Park, Woodpark and Yennora.
Products/industries of the area:
Building/construction, light manufacturing, wholesale and retail, transport industry, agriculture and mixed farming.
First proclaimed:
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Bowen, C (ALP) 2004– (Note: following the 2009 redistribution the Division of Prospect became the Division of McMahon.)
  • Crosio, J (ALP) 1990–2004
  • Klugman, R E (ALP) 1969–1990
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: