2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Eden-Monaro (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the area in which it is located.
41 617 sq km
Location Description:
Eden-Monaro covers an area from Yass, Murrumbateman and Bungendore in the north and south to the Victorian border, excluding the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Adelong, Batlow, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Cabramurra, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Murrumbateman, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Talbingo, Tathra, Tumbarumba, Tumut and Yass.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming. The Snowy Mountains Hydroelectric Scheme, snowfields and tourism are important industries for this division.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Hendy, P (LP) 2013–
  • Kelly, M (ALP) 2007–2013
  • Nairn, G (LP) 1996–2007
  • Snow, J H J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Sainsbury, M E (LP) 1975–1983
  • Whan, R B (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Munro, D R (LP) 1966–1969
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1943–1966
  • Perkins, J A (UAP) 1931–1943
  • Cusack, J J (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Perkins, J A (NAT) 1926–1929
  • Chapman, A (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–1926
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: