2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Cunningham (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Allan Cunningham (1791–1839), an early Australian explorer.
519 sq km
Location Description:
Cunningham covers an area from Warrawong, Unanderra (part) and Farborough Heights in the south to Helensburgh in the north. The main towns include Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Farmborough Heights, Helensburgh, Maddens Plains, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Otford, Port Kembla, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Unanderra (part), Warrawong and Wollongong.
Products/industries of the area:
Wollongong is the commercial centre of the Illawarra, servicing tourism, tertiary education, steel production, coal mining, brick manufacturing and textiles.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Bird, S (ALP) 2004–
  • Organ, M (GRN) 2002–2004
  • Martin, S (ALP) 1993–2002
  • West, S J (ALP) 1977–1993
  • Connor, R F X (ALP) 1963–1977
  • Kearney, V D (ALP) 1956–1963
  • Davies, W (ALP) 1949–1956
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: