2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Cowper (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Sir Charles Cowper (1807–75), Premier of New South Wales 25 August–2 October 1856.
7 296 sq km
Location Description:
Cowper covers an area from Port Macquarie in the south to Coffs Harbour in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Crescent Head, Dorrigo, Gladstone, Hat Head, Kempsey, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Port Macquarie, Ulong and Urunga.
Products/industries of the area:
Fishing, forestry, agriculture, bananas, dairy cattle and tourism.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Hartsuyker, L (NP) 2001–
  • Nehl, G (NP) 1984–2001
  • Robinson, I L (CP/NCP) 1963–1984
  • McGuren, F W (ALP) 1961–1963
  • Page, E C G (FSU/CP) 1919–1961
  • Thomson, J (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • Lee, H W (FT) 1903–1906
  • Clarke, F (PROT) 1901–1903
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: