2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Bennelong (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the Aboriginal man whom Governor Phillip befriended in 1789.
60 sq km
Location Description:
Bennelong covers an area from Ermington (part) and Melrose Park in the west, bounded by the Parramatta River in the south and Pittwater Road and the Lane Cove River in the east, with the M2 Motorway, Devlins Creek and Lane Cove River providing the northern boundary. Suburbs include Denistone, Epping, Gladesville (part), Macquarie Park, Meadowbank, Melrose Park, Putney, North Ryde, Ryde and parts of Carlingford (part).
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Alexander, J (LP) 2010–
  • McKew, M (ALP) 2007–2010
  • Howard, J (LP) 1974–2007
  • Cramer, J O (LP) 1949–1974
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: