2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Barton (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after Sir Edmund Barton (1849–1920), the first Prime Minister of Australia 1901–03.
40 sq km
Location Description:
Barton covers an area from Canterbury Road, Sydenham Bankstown Railway and the Good Railway in the north, to the Illawarra Railway line, Jubilee Avenue, Princess Highway and President Avenue in the south, Kingsgrove Road, the M5 and King Georges Road in the west to Cooks River and Botany Bay in the east. The main suburbs include Bexley, Brighton-Le-Sands, Campsie (part), Canterbury (part), Carlton (part), Earlwood, Hurlstone Park (part), Hurstville, Kingsgrove (part), Kyemagh, Marrickville (part), Rockdale, Tempe and Wolli Creek.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing, commercial and retail industry, tourism, bakeries, chocolate making and health services.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Varvaris, N (LP) 2013–
  • McClelland, R (ALP) 1996–2013
  • Punch, G F (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Bradfield, J M (LP) 1975–1983
  • Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1969–1975
  • Arthur, W T (LP) 1966–1969
  • Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1958–1966
  • Evatt, H V (ALP) 1940–1958
  • Lane, A (UAP) 1931–1940
  • Tully, J T (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Ley, T J (NAT) 1925–1928
  • McDonald, F A (ALP) 1922–1925
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: