2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Barton (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Barton (2009) [PDF 89KB]
Map of the Division of Barton (2009) [PDF 4.8MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Sir Edmund Barton (1849–1920), the first Prime Minister of Australia 1901–03.
Area and Location Description:
Barton covers an area of approximately 44 sq km from Cooks River and Cup and Saucer Creek in the north to the Georges River in the south, Botany Bay in the east and generally to Beverly Hills in the west. The main suburbs include Arncliffe, Banksia, Bardwell Valley, Beverley Park, Bexley, Bexley North, Brighton-Le-Sands, Carss Park, Dolls Point, Kogarah, Kogarah Bay, Kyeemagh, Monterey, Ramsgate, Ramsgate Beach, Rockdale, Sandringham, Sans Souci, Turrella, Wolli Creek and parts of Beverly Hills, Carlton, Earlwood and Kingsgrove.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing, commercial and retail industry, tourism, bakeries, chocolate making and health services.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
McClelland, R (ALP) 1996–
Punch, G F (ALP) 1983–1996
Bradfield, J M (LP) 1975–1983
Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1969–1975
Arthur, W T (LP) 1966–1969
Reynolds, L J (ALP) 1958–1966
Evatt, H V (ALP) 1940–1958
Lane, A (UAP) 1931–1940
Tully, J T (ALP) 1928–1931
Ley, T J (NAT) 1925–1928
McDonald, F A (ALP) 1922–1925
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Barton
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Barton
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Barton
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.