2013 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Fremantle (WA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Western Australia
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
A4 map of the Division of Fremantle (2008) [PDF 120KB]
Map of the Division of Fremantle (2008) [PDF 3.4MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the city of Fremantle which was named after Captain Charles Fremantle 1800–69 who established the port at the mouth of the Swan River in 1829.
Area and Location Description:
Fremantle covers an area of approximately 199 sq km from the Swan River in the north to Jandakot Airport in the east and Wattleup in the south. It also includes Rottnest Island. The main suburbs include Atwell, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Bicton, Coogee, Coolbellup, East Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hilton, Jandakot, North Fremantle, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley, Willagee, Yangebup, and the City of Fremantle.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Small goods factories, ship building, market gardens, brewing, hospitality, tourism and fishing.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Parke, M (ALP) 2007–
Lawrence, C (ALP) 1994–2007
Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1977–1994
Beazley, K E (ALP) 1945–1977
Curtin, J (FLP/ALP) 1934–1945
Watson, W (UAP) 1931–1934
Curtin, J (ALP) 1928–1931
Watson, W (IND) 1922–1928
Burchell, R J (ALP/NAT) 1913–1922
Hedges, W N (WAP/LIB) 1906–1913
Carpenter, W H (ALP) 1903–1906
Solomon, E (FT) 1901–1903
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Fremantle
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Fremantle
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Fremantle
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.