2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Watson (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Watson (2009) [PDF 81KB]
Map of the Division of Watson (2009) [PDF 4.9MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after John Watson (1867–1941), Prime Minister of Australia 27 April–12 August 1904.
Area and Location Description:
Watson covers an area of approximately 42 sq km from Strathfield in the north to Roselands in the south, Canterbury in the east and Mount Lewis in the west. The main suburbs include Belfield, Belmore, Burwood Heights, Campsie, Chullora, Clemton Park, Enfield, Greenacre, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Roselands, Strathfield South, Wiley Park and parts of Ashbury, Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Burwood, Canterbury, Croydon, Croydon Park, Earlwood, Kingsgrove, Narwee, Punchbowl, Riverwood and Strathfield.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing and service industries.
First proclaimed/election:
1992/1993 (Watson became a division in 1992 but was previously known as St George which became a division in 1948.)
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Burke, T (ALP) 2004–
McLeay, L (ALP) 1993–2004
Dubois, S (ALP) 1984–1993
Morrison, W L(ALP) 1980–1984
Neil, M J (LP) 1975–1980
Morrison, W L (ALP) 1969–1975
Bosman, L L (LP) 1963–1969
Clay, L D (ALP) 1958–1963
Graham, B W (LP) 1955–1958
Lemmon, N (ALP) 1954–1955
Graham, B W (LP) 1949–1954
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Watson
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Watson
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Watson
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.