2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Canberra (ACT)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Australian Capital Territory
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
Canberra (2005) [PDF 120KB]
Map of ACT electoral boundaries (2005) [PDF 1.6MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.
Area and Location Description:
Canberra covers an area of approximately 1 921 sq km including Capital Hill and adjacent suburbs, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate, the industrial areas of Fyshwick and Hume and the remainder of the ACT to the south and west of the Murrumbidgee and Molonglo Rivers. Those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory are enrolled in the Division of Canberra.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Mainly residential with some light industry at Fyshwick and Hume, tourism and retail industries.
First Proclaimed/Election:
1974 (Prior to 1974 – Australian Capital Territory.)
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Brodtmann, G (ALP) 2010–
Ellis, A (ALP) 1998–2010
McMullan, B (ALP) 1996–1998
Smyth, B M (LP) 1995–1996
Kelly, R J (ALP) 1980–1995
Haslem, J W (LP) 1975–1980
Enderby, K E (ALP) 1974–1975
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Canberra
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Canberra
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Canberra
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.