2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Herbert

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Robert Herbert 1831–1905, the first Premier of Queensland 1860–66.

Area and Location Description:

Herbert covers an area of approximately 389 sq km around the City of Townsville and also includes Magnetic Island and Palm Islands. Townsville including much of Thuringowa City is the main population centre in the area.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Copper, nickel and zinc refineries, bulk sugar terminal, and tropical fruits, prawn and fishing industry, beef cattle and tourism. Townsville, noted for its port facilities, is also home to James Cook University, the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and large defence establishments at Lavarack Barracks (Army) and Garbutt (RAAF).

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Lindsay, P (LP) 1996–
  • Lindsay, E J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Dean, A G (LP) 1977–1983
  • Bonnett, R N (LP) 1966–1977
  • Harding, E W (ALP) 1961–1966
  • Murray, J (LP) 1958–1961
  • Edmonds, W F (ALP) 1946–1958
  • Martens, G W (ALP/FLP) 1928–1946
  • Nott, L W (NAT) 1925–1928
  • Bamford, F W (ALP/NAT) 1901–1925

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Herbert

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.