2001 Profile of the division of Bennelong

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal man whom Governor Phillip befriended in 1789.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 53 sq km from Carlingford in the west to East Ryde in the east, bounded by the Parramatta River in the south and the Lane Cove River in the north.

The main suburbs include Epping, East Ryde, Eastwood, Gladesville, Marsfield, Meadowbank, Putney, North Ryde, Ryde and West Ryde.

Products/Industries of the area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and retail businesses.

First Proclaimed



  • John Howard (LP) 1974–
  • J O Cramer (LP) 1949–74

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 83 725

Informal Vote: 5.67%

Turnout: 95.07%

Seat Status: Fairly safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 43.97%
  • LP: 56.03%

Enrolment: 85 000

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.78%
  • Preamble Question 0.85%


  • Republic Question 95.40%
  • Preamble Question 95.40%

Enrolment: 86 896

Informal Vote: 5.42%

Turnout: 94.59%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 42.29%
  • LP: 57.71%
Back to top