2001 Profile of the division of Mackellar

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Dorothea Mackellar (1885–1968), a famous Australian poet and novelist.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 229 sq km from the northern part of Palm Beach, south to Dee Why and west to Duffys Forest.

The main suburbs include Avalon, Bayview, Beacon Hill, Belrose, Bilgola, Church Point, Collaroy, Davidson, Dee Why, Elanora, Frenchs Forest, Mona Vale, Narrabeen, Newport, Palm Beach and Terrey Hills.

Products/Industries of the area:

Light manufacturing, service industries, commercial wholesale and retail trades and tourism.

First Proclaimed



  • Bronwyn Bishop (LP) 1994–
  • J J Carlton (LP) 1977–94
  • W C Wentworth (LP/IND) 1949–77

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 81 571

Informal Vote: 3.59%

Turnout: 94.67%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 34.36%
  • LP: 65.64%

Enrolment: 83 428

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.75%
  • Preamble Question 0.92%


  • Republic Question 94.88%
  • Preamble Question 94.91%

Enrolment: 86 505

Informal Vote: 4.66%

Turnout: 94.36%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 33.13%
  • LP: 66.87%
Back to top