2001 Profile of the division of Hughes

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after William Hughes (1862–1952), Prime Minister of Australia (1915–1923).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 265 sq km from the Georges River in the north and west, through to the Royal National Park at Waterfall in the south and Sutherland, Jannali and Oyster Bay in the east.

The main suburbs include Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Bonnet Bay, Chipping Norton, Como, Engadine, Hammondville, Heathcote, Holsworthy, Illawong, Jannali, Lucas Heights, Menai, Moorebank, Oyster Bay, Sutherland, Waterfall, Wattle Grove and Woronora Heights.

Products/Industries of the area:

Atomic reactor, light manufacturing industries, army base at Holsworthy.

First Proclaimed



  • Danna Vale (LP) 1996–
  • R E Tickner (ALP) 1984–96
  • L R Johnson (ALP) 1969–83
  • J D Dobie (LP) 1966–69
  • L R Johnson (ALP) 1955–66

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 87 821

Informal Vote: 3.74%

Turnout: 96.21%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 44.48%
  • LP: 55.52%

Enrolment: 89 630

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.77%
  • Preamble Question 0.88%


  • Republic Question 96.18%
  • Preamble Question 96.16%

Enrolment: 85 741

Informal Vote: 4.08%

Turnout: 96.15%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 39.59%
  • LP: 60.41%
Back to top