2001 Profile of the division of Barker

Updated: 9 February 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Captain Collet Barker (1784–1831), an explorer who was sent to solve the 'mystery' of the mouth of the River Murray.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 52 006 sq km from Swan Reach to Port MacDonnell in the south. The eastern boundary is the Victorian border. It includes the Fleurieu Peninsula to the west and also Kangaroo Island.

The towns of Bordertown, Goolwa, Keith, Kingscote, Kingston SE, Mannum, Millicent, Mt Gambier, Murray Bridge, Naracoorte, Penola, Pinnaroo, Port Elliot, Tailem Bend, Victor Harbor and Yankalilla are in this division.

Products/Industries of the area:

Beef and dairy cattle, sheep, fishing, cereals, forestry, timber, paper products, wine, transport and tourism.

First Proclaimed



  • Patrick Secker (LP) 1998–
  • I McLachlan (LP) 1990–98
  • J R Porter (LP) 1975–90
  • A J Forbes (LP) 1956–75
  • A G Cameron (CP/LP/LCL/LP) 1934–56
  • M D Cameron (NAT/UAP) 1922–34
  • J Livingston (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–22
  • (Sir) J L Bonython (PROT) 1903–06

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 84 771

Informal Vote: 5.08%

Turnout: 96.52%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 36.26%
  • LP: 63.74%

Enrolment: 86 046

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.87%
  • Preamble Question 1.01%


  • Republic Question 96.57%
  • Preamble Question 96.63%

Enrolment: 87 836

Informal Vote: 5.5%

Turnout: 96.27%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 34.31%
  • LP: 65.69%
Back to top