Profile of the electoral division of Maribyrnong (Vic)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
26 July 2021
First election this name was used at:
1906 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Maribyrnong (2021)

Map of the Division of Maribyrnong (2021) [PDF 2.28MB]

Download Victoria GIS data

Name Derivation:

Named after the Maribyrnong River. The name 'Maribyrnong' is variously believed to be:

  • an Aboriginal word for 'yam' or 'edible root', or
  • derived from the Woiwaurrung word 'Mirrangbamurn', with 'mirrang' meaning eye and 'barmurn' meaning ringtail possum, or
  • from the traditional name 'Mareingalk', country belonging to the Mareinbulluc.
98 sq km
Location description

The Division of Maribyrnong consists of:

  • Moonee Valley City Council,
  • part of the Brimbank City Council,
  • part of the Hume City Council
  • part of the Melbourne City Council, and
  • part of the Moreland City Council.
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.