Profile of the electoral division of Mallee (Vic)

Updated: 30 June 2022
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
26 July 2021
First election this name was used at:
1949 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2022 federal election
Maps and data

A4 map of the electoral division of Mallee (2021)

Map of the Division of Mallee (2021) [PDF 4.29MB]

Download Victoria GIS data

Name Derivation:
Named after the geographic location covered by the electoral division. 'Mallee' is believed to be an Aboriginal word for dwarf eucalypts which grow in the area.
83,412 sq km
Location description

The Division of Mallee consists of:

  • Buloke Shire Council,
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council,
  • Gannawarra Shire Council,
  • Hindmarsh Shire Council,
  • Horsham Rural City Council,
  • Loddon Shire Council,
  • Mildura Rural City Council,
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council,
  • West Wimmera Shire Council,
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council,
  • part of the Northern Grampians Shire Council, and
  • part of the Pyrenees Shire Council.
Demographic Rating:
Rural – outside capital cities and without majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.