Profile of the electoral division of Northern Territory (NT)

Updated: 3 July 2020
Northern Territory
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
3 July 2020
First election this name was used at:
1922 federal election Note: The name ‘Northern Territory’ was retired for the 2001 election.
First election this boundary was used at:
The next federal election following the 2019 federal election
Map and data:
Name Derivation:
The Northern Territory was surrendered by the State of South Australia and accepted by the Commonwealth on 1 January 1911. It was defined in the Northern Territory Acceptance Act 1910 as that part of Australia which lies to the northward of the twenty-sixth parallel of South Latitude and between the one hundred and twenty-ninth and one hundred and thirty-eighth degrees of East Longitude, together with the bays and gulfs therein, and all and every the islands adjacent to any part of the mainland within such limits as aforesaid, with their rights, members, and appurtenances.
1,348,240 sq km
Location description:
The Division of Northern Territory covers an area consisting of:
  • the entirety of the Northern Territory;
  • the Territory of Christmas Island; and
  • the Territory of Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
Demographic Rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
The first member for Northern Territory will be elected at the next federal general election.
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information:
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.
Back to top