Profile of the electoral division of Newcastle (NSW)

Updated: 19 November 2019
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election this name was used at:
1901 federal election
First election this boundary was used at:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the city covered by the electoral division. Newcastle was named by Governor King in 1804.
171 sq km
Location Description:
Newcastle covers an area from the Hunter River and the Rail Trail in the north, Minmi in the west and Newcastle Link Road, Lake Road, Reservoir Road, Wallsend Road, Newcastle Inner City Bypass, the Main Northern Railway line, Marshall Street and Main Road in the south and the coast from Merewether to Stockton in the east. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Broadmeadow, Cardiff Heights, Carrington, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Jesmond, Kooragang, Kotara, Lambton, Maryland, Merewether, Minmi, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, Waratah and Wallsend.
This description reflects local government areas in existence in 2015.
Demographic rating:
Provincial – outside capital cities, but with a majority of enrolment in major provincial cities.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Previous members:
Former members for an electoral division of this name can be found by searching ‘Electoral divisions’ or ‘Members of the House of Representatives since 1901’ in the historical information section of the Parliamentary Handbook
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: