Eden-Monaro by-election announced

Updated: 26 May 2020

The federal by-election for the electoral division of Eden-Monaro (New South Wales) will be held on Saturday 4 July 2020.

The Australian Electoral Officer for New South Wales, Warwick Austin, said that people should act now to ensure their enrolment details are up to date by 8pm on Thursday 4 June 2020.

“You can enrol, or update or check your enrolment details online,” Mr Austin said.

Recent bushfires

If you are temporarily displaced from your enrolled address due to the recent bushfires, you can remain enrolled at that address.

If the recent bushfires have caused you to move residence to what you would consider to be a permanent new arrangement, then you should update your enrolment prior to the close of rolls for the by-election.

COVID-19 safety measures

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the AEC has introduced measures for this by-election to comply with the advice of health authorities.

Mr Austin said that the health and safety of Eden-Monaro voters had been at the forefront of by-election preparation.
“People who cast their vote in-person will notice a different voting experience to what they may have encountered in the past with a number of social distancing and hygiene measures to be implemented,” he said.

Plan how you will cast your vote

There are in-person and postal voting options available for this by-election. It is important to plan how you will vote, according to your personal circumstances. Apply for a postal vote. Voting from overseas will be available via post only.

Key dates

The Speaker of the House of Representatives has issued a media release announcing his intention to issue a writ for the by-election with the following key dates to apply.

Key dates

Issue of writ

Thursday 28 May

Postal vote applications open

4pm Monday 25 May

Close of rolls

8pm AEST Thursday 4 June

Close of nominations

12 midday AEST Tuesday 9 June

Declaration of nominations

12 midday AEST Wednesday 10 June

Early voting starts

Monday 15 June

Postal vote applications close

6pm Wednesday 1 July

By-election day

Saturday 4 July

Return of writ

on or before Saturday 5 September