2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Sydney (NSW)

Updated: 5 July 2016
New South Wales
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
25 February 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps of Division
Name derivation:
Named after the city of Sydney, which was named in 1788 by Captain Arthur Phillip after Viscount Sydney, then British Home Secretary.
44 sq km
Location Description:
Sydney covers an area from Pyrmont, The Rocks and Potts Point (including Sydney Harbour) in the north to Rosebery in the south. Bounded in the east by the eastern border of Potts Point and Darlinghurst to Oxford Street, Flinders Street, South Dowling Street and Southern Cross Drive, the division extends to Glebe, Camperdown, Newtown and Erskineville in the west. The main suburbs include Camperdown, Darlinghurst (part), Erskineville, Glebe, Haymarket, Newtown, Potts Point, Pyrmont, Rosebery, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Waterloo and Woolloomooloo.
Products/industries of the area:
Commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Plibersek, T (ALP) 1998–
  • Baldwin, P (ALP) 1983–1998
  • McMahon, J L (ALP) 1975–1983
  • Cope, J F (ALP) 1969–1975
AEC contact:
Divisional Office contact details
Further information: