2001 Profile of the division of Wills

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after William John Wills (1834–1861), explorer and member of expedition which attempted to cross the Australian continent in 1860–1861.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 52 sq km from Fawkner and Glenroy in the north to Moonee Ponds and Brunswick in the south and also includes Essendon Airport.

The main suburbs include Brunswick, Coburg, Essendon, Fawkner, Glenroy, Hadfield, Moonee Ponds, Oak Park, Pascoe Vale and Strathmore.

Products/Industries of the area:

This area contains many large industries including paper, tiles, hosiery, steel, paints, glass, textiles, Australian Defence Industries, joinery, electrical goods and various hardware industries.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Kelvin Thomson (ALP) 1996–
  • P R Cleary (IND) 1993–96
  • R J L Hawke (ALP) 1980–92
  • G M Bryant (ALP) 1955–80
  • W G Bryson (ALP) 1949–55

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 87 245

Informal Vote: 4.27%

Turnout: 94.55%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 70.96%
  • LP: 29.04%

Enrolment: 88 211

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 1.24%
  • Preamble Question 1.38%


  • Republic Question 93.98%
  • Preamble Question 94.20%

Enrolment: 88 553

Informal Vote: 5.19%

Turnout: 93.58%

Seat Status: Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 69.42%
  • LP: 30.58%
Back to top