2017 New England by-election

Updated: 8 November 2017

By-election day is Saturday 2 December 2017

The by-election is for voters enrolled in the electoral Division of New England in New South Wales.

Early voting is now available.

If you are an Australian citizen aged 18 years or older and live in the electoral Division of New England, it is compulsory to enrol and vote in the by-election.

The electoral roll for the New England by-election is now closed. You can check if you are enrolled in the Division of New England.

Polling places open at 8am and close at 6pm sharp. Polling places will not be available outside the electoral Division of New England on by-election day.

A list of polling places will be available shortly.

If you can’t make it to a polling place in the electoral Division of New England on by-election day, you may be entitled to vote early.

Voting is compulsory. If you do not vote and do not have a valid reason for failing to vote, you will be fined.

Early voting centres

A list of early voting centres will be available shortly.

Postal voting


Participation in the New England by-election overseas will only be available via postal voting. There will be no overseas voting centres.

Who you vote for is your decision. Outside the polling place, candidate representatives may give you how-to-vote cards, suggesting you vote in a particular way. You do not have to follow how-to-vote cards.

The candidate nominations, in ballot paper order, that were officially declared at midday 10 November 2017 are:

  1. STRETTON Richard, Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group)
  2. WAGSTAFF Skyla Shane, Animal Justice Party
  3. POTTS Andrew, Affordable Housing Party
  4. MADDEN Jeff, Independent
  5. SMYTH Tristam, Liberal Democrats
  6. CARTER Dean, Independent
  7. JOYCE Barnaby, The Nationals
  8. BOURKE William, Sustainable Australia
  9. STACEY Warwick, Seniors United Party of Australia
  10. TABER Rob, Independent
  11. MAILLER Pete, CountryMinded
  12. EWINGS David, Labor
  13. CRANNEY Donald, Rise Up Australia Party
  14. WILLS Peter, The Greens
  15. McINTYRE Jamie, 21st  Century Australia
  16. MEOW-MEOW Meow-Ludo Disco Gamma, Science Party
  17. BRITZA Ian, Australian Country Party

More information

Key dates (all times in AEDT)
Issue of writ Friday 27 October 2017
Close of rolls 8pm Friday 3 November 2017
Close of nominations Midday Thursday 9 November 2017
Declaration of nominations Midday Friday 10 November 2017
Start of early voting Tuesday 14 November 2017
By-election day Saturday 2 December 2017
Return of writs On or before Sunday 4 February 2018
  1. In the polling place a polling official will ask you for your full name and address, and if you have voted before in this by-election. They will mark your name off the electoral roll.
  2. You will be given a green ballot paper for the Division of New England in the House of Representatives. You should read the instructions on the ballot paper carefully.
  3. Complete your ballot paper. You must number every box to make your vote count.
  4. Once you have completed your ballot paper, fold it and place it in the ballot box provided.

Information is available in other languages for people from non-English speaking backgrounds.

Voting is compulsory for Australian citizens aged 18 years and over. If you don’t vote, you may be prosecuted. If you vote more than once it is a criminal offence.