2017 Bennelong by-election

Updated: 20 November 2017

By-election day is Saturday 16 December 2017

The by-election is for voters enrolled in the electoral Division of Bennelong in New South Wales.

If you are an Australian citizen aged 18 years or older and live in the electoral Division of Bennelong, it is compulsory to enrol and vote in the by-election.

The electoral roll for the Bennelong by-election is now closed. You can check if you are enrolled in the Division of Bennelong.

Polling places open at 8am and close at 6pm sharp. Polling places will not be available outside the electoral Division of Bennelong on by-election day.

A list of polling places will be available shortly.

If you can’t make it to a polling place in the electoral Division of Bennelong on by-election day, you may be entitled to vote early.

Voting is compulsory. If you do not vote and do not have a valid reason for failing to vote, you will be fined.

Early voting centres

A list of early voting centres will be available shortly.

Postal voting


Participation in the Bennelong by-election overseas will only be available via postal voting. There will be no overseas voting centres.

Who you vote for is your decision. Outside the polling place, candidate representatives may give you how-to-vote cards, suggesting you vote in a particular way. You do not have to follow how-to-vote cards.

A list of candidates will become available on the afternoon of Friday 24 November 2017.

More information

Key dates (all times in AEDT)
Issue of writ Monday 13 November 2017
Close of rolls 8pm Monday 20 November 2017
Close of nominations Midday Thursday 23 November 2017
Declaration of nominations Midday Friday 24 November 2017
Start of early voting Tuesday 28 November 2017
By-election day Saturday 16 December 2017
Return of writs On or before Wednesday 21 February 2018
  1. In the polling place a polling official will ask you for your full name and address, and if you have voted before in this by-election. They will mark your name off the electoral roll.
  2. You will be given a green ballot paper for the Division of Bennelong in the House of Representatives. You should read the instructions on the ballot paper carefully.
  3. Complete your ballot paper. You must number every box to make your vote count.
  4. Once you have completed your ballot paper, fold it and place it in the ballot box provided.

Information is available in other languages for people from non-English speaking backgrounds.

Voting is compulsory for Australian citizens aged 18 years and over. If you don’t vote, you may be prosecuted. If you vote more than once it is a criminal offence.