2018 Batman by-election

Updated: 23 February 2018

Saturday 17 March 2018

Polling places open at 8am and close at 6pm sharp.

The by-election is for voters enrolled in the electoral Division of Batman in Victoria.

If you are an Australian citizen aged 18 years or older and live in the electoral Division of Batman, it is compulsory to enrol and vote in the by-election.

Not sure if you are enrolled? Check your enrolment details online.

The electoral roll for the Batman by-election is now closed.

You can vote at any polling place in the electoral Division of Batman on by-election day.

A list of polling places will be available shortly.

Voting is compulsory. If you do not vote and do not have a valid reason for failing to vote, you will be fined.

If you can't make it on election day, you may be entitled to vote early.

Early voting centres

A list of early voting centres will be available shortly.

Postal voting


Participation in the Batman by-election overseas will only be available via postal voting. There will be no overseas voting centres.

Who you vote for is your decision. Outside the polling place, candidate representatives may give you how-to-vote cards, suggesting you vote in a particular way. You do not have to follow how-to-vote cards.

A media release has been issued listing the candidates. Candidate details will be published here shortly.

More information

Key dates (all times in AEDT)
Issue of writ Wednesday 07 February 2018
Close of rolls 8pm AEDT Wednesday 14 February 2018
Close of nominations 12 Midday AEDT Thursday 22 February 2018
Declaration of nominations 12 Midday AEDT Friday 23 February 2018
Start of early voting Tuesday 27 February 2018
By-election day Saturday 17 March 2018
Return of writs on or before Friday 18 May 2018
  1. In the polling place a polling official will ask you for your full name and address, and if you have voted before in this by-election. They will mark your name off the electoral roll.
  2. You will be given a green ballot paper for the Division of Batman in the House of Representatives. You should read the instructions on the ballot paper carefully.
  3. Complete your ballot paper. You must number every box to make your vote count.
  4. Once you have completed your ballot paper, fold it and place it in the ballot box provided.

Information is available in other languages for people from non-English speaking backgrounds.

Voting is compulsory for Australian citizens aged 18 years and over. If you don’t vote, you may be prosecuted. If you vote more than once it is a criminal offence.