17 candidates to contest the 2017 New England by-election

Updated: 10 November 2017

17 candidates have nominated to contest the 2017 New England by-election, the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) announced today.

The candidate nominations, in ballot paper order, that were officially declared at midday today are:

  1. STRETTON Richard, Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group)
  2. WAGSTAFF Skyla Shane, Animal Justice Party
  3. POTTS Andrew, Affordable Housing Party
  4. MADDEN Jeff, Independent
  5. SMYTH Tristam, Liberal Democrats
  6. CARTER Dean, Independent
  7. JOYCE Barnaby, The Nationals
  8. BOURKE William, Sustainable Australia
  9. STACEY Warwick, Seniors United Party of Australia
  10. TABER Rob, Independent
  11. MAILLER Pete, CountryMinded
  12. EWINGS David, Labor
  13. CRANNEY Donald, Rise Up Australia Party
  14. WILLS Peter, The Greens
  15. McINTYRE Jamie, 21st  Century Australia
  16. MEOW-MEOW Meow-Ludo Disco Gamma, Science Party
  17. BRITZA Ian, Australian Country Party

Editor’s notes:

Ten people nominated as a candidate in the electoral Division of New England at the 2016 federal election.

Candidates and the result for the seat of New England in the 2016 federal election can be found on the AEC website at http://results.aec.gov.au/20499/website/HouseDivisionPage-20499- 135.htm

Back to top