

National President Darren Churchill President@democrats.org.au 16th January, 2013

Shawn O'Brien, Registrar of Political Parties Australian Electoral Commission West Block Offices Victoria Terrace PARKES ACT 2600

www.democrats.org.au

RECEIVED

1 8 JAN 2013

Funding & Disclosure

PO Box 6172 KINGSTON ACT 2604

Dear Shawn,

RE: National Secretary of the Australian Democrats

We refer to your letter of 19th December, 2012, referring to an application to change the Secretary of the Australian Democrats.

We note that our current Secretary, Roger Howe was appointed to the position in August 2011, as per the documents provided when we recorded the change. The position is a two-year appointment, which is renewable. Roger Howe is therefore the National Secretary until the first National Executive meeting after the ballot for the 2013/14 Executive, at which point his appointment may be renewed.

Please be advised that there has been no valid motion of National Executive to change the National Secretary, since 2nd August 2011 when Roger Howe was appointed to replace Darren Churchill. The appointment was titled "Acting" in order to comply with the party's National Constitution of no person holding both a non-voting and voting position on the National Executive. This was accepted by the AEC and is recorded as "person performing the role of Secretary."

Registered Officer, Charlie Bell has advised you "there is a small group within the Australian Democrats that is conspiring to take over the party." Members of that group include members who in March 2012, lodged an unauthorised submission to the AEC's membership audit of the party, which contained many errors and would have resulted in loss of registration. You are also aware of John Davey's involvement behind that unauthorised submission and his false claims to be representing the party, despite being told by the National President his representation was not required.

The person notifying you of the unauthorised attempt to appoint Stuart Horrex, ie. John Davey holds no officer position in the party (and was involved with the group referred to in the paragraph above). He was elected on count-back to the Victoria Division Executive when Rob Livesay was elected Divisional President. However, Davey (who claims ACT Division membership) holds no other position and is currently the subject of disciplinary action in both the Victoria and ACT Divisions – and of an internal party investigation nationally regarding the renegade submission to the AEC in March 2012. He is **NOT** the National Treasurer.

Stuart Horrex is NOT the National Secretary. Roger Howe is the National Secretary.

National Secretary Roger Howe (Actimg) Secretary@democrats.org.au

National Office

Suite 11/22 Stirling Street, Thebattor 5/6 5031 (08) 7070 6070 inquiries@democrats.org.au

Australian Capital Territory

PO Box 4070, Kingston ACT 2524 0412 196 473 info@act.democrats.org ata

New South Wales

PO Box R1680, Royal Exchange Sedney NSW 1225 (02) 9818 4711 Mobile: 04 2381 3387 nswdems@democrats.org.am

Northern Territory

Please refer to Western Australian

Queensland

PO Box 575, Oxenford QLD 4200 0418 293 629 secretary@qld.democrats.cng,au

South Australia

Suite 11/22 Stirling Street, Thetharton 54 5031 (08) 7070 6070 sa.democrats@democrats.org.au

Tasmania

PO Box 139, Launceston Tax 7250 0428 289 8401 jeremy@australiandemocrats.com2.400

Victoria

PO Box 135, East Melbourane Witt HCBUE (03) 9539 3034 vicdems@democrats.org:alu

Western Australia

0420 301 170 office@wa.democrats.org:#L National Office

Doc 13 Page 2



National President Darren Churchill President@democrats.org.au

www.democrats.org.au

Stuart Horrex is a Deputy National President (elected on a count-back to replace Jason Heeris, who resigned). However, he holds no other position in the party outside of the New South Wales Division.

The factional group has attempted to conduct unauthorised National Executive business by email motions. This included an attempt to appoint officer positions in a secretive, invalid process, which deliberately excluded three voting members of the National Executive (Darren Churchill, Roger Howe and Trevor Jenner) and included some invalid proxies from Tasmania (not verified by the Secretary) and Queensland (Jim Page), as well as one person claiming to be a Deputy National President when he wasn't (Tim Neal).

The current voting members of National Executive (as of today 16th January, 2013) ,re: Darren Churchill (National President and chair); Roger Howe (Senior Deputy National President); David Collyer, Hayden Ostrom Brown, Stuart Horrex, and Rev. Christopher Ridings (Deputy National Presidents); Drew Simmons (NSW President); Trevor Jenner (ACT Deputy President and Proxy); Robert Livesay (Vic President); Paul Young (WA Acting President); Paulene Hutton (Tas Secretary and Proxy); and Bruce Hogben/Greg Croke (whoever is available, SA Vice Presidents); Mathew Burke (Young Democrats President).

The Qld President would normally hold a vote. However, Paul Cole has not been a member for 12 months (as required by the National Constitution). And the Qld Division Executive has not appointed a valid Proxy.

The current Directory on the back page (attached) of the soon to published January 2013 National Journal shows all national Australian Democrats party positions. Please note, it does show the actual office holder of the State Divisions, not who holds the proxy if that person is already on National Executive – although proxies are usually held by the Divisional Deputy or Secretary.

light of this information, we ask the AEC to continue to recognise Roger Howe as National Secretary of the Australian Democrats.

Yours Sincerely,

Darren Churchill National President Australian Democrats



Roger Howe National Secretary (Acting) Australian Democrats

National Secretary Roger Howe (Acting)

Secretary@democrats uru au

Suite 11/22 Stirling Street, Thatbaston 5/4 5031 (08) 7070 5070 inquiries@democrats.org ave

Australian Capital Tenninany

PO Box 4070, Kingston ACT ZED4 0412 196 473 info@act.democrats.org.au

New South Wales

PO Box R1680, Royal Exchange Sydmey NSW 1225 (02) 9818 4711 Mobile: 04 2381 3387 nswdems@democrats.org.au

Northern Territory

Please refer to Western Australium contacts

Queensland

PO Box 575, Oxenford QLD 4.233 0418 293 629 secretary@qld.democrats.co;g.au

South Australia

Suite 11/22 Stirling Street, The Burther SA 5031 (08) 7070 6070 sa.democrats@democrats.org.au

Tasmania

PO Box 139, Launceston ඊසැ7/250 0428 289 8401 jeremy@australiandemocratisකාල හා

Victoria

PO Box 135, East Melbourne Vie 2022 (03) 9539 3034 vicdems@democrats.org.au

Western Australia

0420 301 170 office@wa.democrats.org.au