



Suggestion 122

Craig Taylor

From: Craig Taylor Sent: Saturday, 11 November 2017 9:28 AM

To: FedRedistribution - SA

Subject: Redistribution of South Australian Federal Electorates

To the Redistribution Committee for South Australia,

I write to make suggestions to the South Australian Federal Redistribution currently being undertaken by the Australian Electoral Commission.

I am a constituent of the Federal Division of Mayo.

I do not believe that the Division of Mayo should be abolished in this redistribution process.

My reasons for this submission are:

Yours sincerely Craig Taylor

Mayo is bordered by the expanding peri-urban residential developments to the north and the expansive outback plains to the north, neither of which share many of the economic, social or infrastructure needs of Mayo at a Federal level. Amalgamating swathes of Mayo into 'city' or outback seats would only further marginalise the capacity for residents of Mayo to agitate for regionally specific reforms. Population density should not be the primary criteria argument for shifting boundaries.

Mayo has a distinctly different topography and micro-climates to surrounding electorates. For instance our locality is the Southern Mount Lofty Ranges.. Having been involved with biodiversity programs for the last 10 years it is essential for us to be able to apply for competitive government funding for weeding, revegitation and community education from a distinct area. With only 9% remnant bushland left in the State (and less than 4% in our area) maintaining and cultivating a distinct identity with a member dedicated to our area (as opposed to one split across urban and rural concerns) is of vital environmental and economic importance.

Amalgamation of physically smaller areas closer to inner urban seats is a more sympathetic means to achieve equitable representation for every South Australian.

With these criteria in mind, I do not believe that the Division of Mayo should be abolished.

I hope you will consider my submission, and that you will see fit to keep the Division of Mayo as one of the ten electoral divisions in South Australia.

10 was same training a writer	