

The Federal Redistribution 2010 Victoria



Further Objection Number 189

Gary Arnold, Chief Executive Officer, Moira Shire

2 pages

From: Sent: To: Subject: Attachments:

Friday, 29 October 2010 9:35 AM VIC Redistribution AEC - Objection - Proposed Redistribution of Federal Electoral Boundaries in Victoria ATT00001.jpg; 10hay1028 AEC Second submission murray electorate.pdf

To whom it may concern,

Please find attached correspondence from Moira Shire Council regarding the Australian Electoral Commission, Objection - Proposed Redistribution of Federal Electoral Boundaries in Victoria.

Should you have any queries please don't hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

JODINE PARR Interim Personal Assistant to CEO, Mayor and Councillors

Phone: (03) 5871 9425

www.moira.vic.gov.au





This email and any files transmitted with it are confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error please notify the system manager.

This footnote also confirms that this email message has been swept by Mail Marshall for the presence of computer viruses. 120.03.0001

28 October 2010

Redistribution Secretariat Australian Electoral Commission 8th Floor, Casselden Place 2 Lonsdale Street MELBOURNE VIC 3000

Dear Secretariat

Proposed Redistribution of Federal Electoral Boundaries in Victoria

I write to you further to my previous submission dated 26 August 2010 in relation specifically to the Federal Electorate of Murray.

On review, it is noted that an area of the Moira Shire located in the South Eastern corner falls within the electorate of Indi. The area, whilst of a reasonable geographic size, is not significant in relation to the population as it is predominately rural dry farmland containing the small townships of Tungamah, St James and Wilby.

The Moira Shire requests that consideration be given to the inclusion of this area within the electorate of Murray by aligning this electoral boundary with the shire boundary. The result of this change would be to then include the entire Moira Shire within the Murray Electorate.

Whilst council is mindful of the considerations that the commission makes in relation to electoral redistribution to endeavour to have a similar number of voters in each electorate it is considered that the movement of approximately 1200 enrolments from the Indi to Murray would have minor effect on both electorates.

I observe that the increase in enrolments within Murray resulting from this change may be offset in the western area through what appears to be an opportunity involving the area of the Loddon Shire which may be aligned to the electorate of Bendigo.

It is with respect that I seek your consideration to this submission which would result in the alignment of two boundaries and the inclusion of all of Moira Shire into the one Federal electorate.

If you have any queries or wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me on (03) 5871 9222.

Yours faithfully

Gary Arnold Chief Executive Officer wh:wh

Moira Shire Council 44 Station Street Cobram Vic 3644

MOIRASHIRE ON THE MURRAY

P.O. Box 578 Cobram Vic 3643

DX 37801 Cobram

Tel 03 5871 9222 1300 36 9966 Fax 03 5872 1567 TTY 03 5871 2262

webmaster@moira.vic.gov.au www.moira.vic.gov.au

ABN 20 538 141 700