1.4 Description of the method used to calculate the area of electoral divisions

Updated: 7 March 2012

The area of electoral divisions in South Australia has been calculated by aggregating the area of:

  • all land-based Census Collection Districts (CCDs),
  • any parts of land-based CCDs, and
  • any lakes, ponds, rivers, creeks, wetlands or marshes not already included in land-based CCDs that are wholly contained within the divisional boundary of each electoral division

Areas are calculated on the Geocentric Datum of Australia (GDA94) spheroid using the AEC Electoral Boundary Mapping System (EBMS) developed within the 'Mapinfo Professional' software package.