AEC invites written suggestions into the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in the Northern Territory

Updated: 3 February 2016

The Australian Electoral Commissioner Tom Rogers is inviting members of the public to submit written suggestions about the redistribution of federal electoral divisions in the Northern Territory.

Mr Rogers said interested individuals and organisations could provide written suggestions and comments on these suggestions about the redistribution, which will see the Northern Territory's representation remain the same with two federal electoral divisions.

"Written suggestions must be received by the Redistribution Committee for the Northern Territory by 6pm (ACST) Friday 4 March 2016 to allow them to be considered."

Mr Rogers said in making its proposal of revised electoral divisions, the Redistribution Committee must ensure that the number of electors in each division meets strict numerical criteria.

"In addition, the Redistribution Committee will consider communities of interest, means of communications and travel, and the physical features and area of the proposed divisions."

Further information about the redistribution process, including guidelines for making submissions, is available on the AEC website at

The best way to lodge a submission with the Redistribution Committee is via the AEC website at Suggestions and comments can also be submitted:

  • by email to;
  • in person at the office of the Redistribution Committee for NT at Level 7, TCG Centre, 80 Mitchell Street, Darwin, NT;
  • by mail to GPO Box 21, Darwin NT 0801; or
  • by fax to 08 6363 8016.

The Committee will continue its consultation process by making all suggestions received available for public inspection from Monday 7 March 2015. The public will then have until 6pm (ACST) on Friday 18 March 2016 to lodge any written comments they may have on the suggestions.

Editor's notes: