Australian Electoral Commission

2014 WA Senate election: Distribution of preferences to decide WA Senators Tuesday

Updated: 28 April 2014

The Australian Electoral Officer for Western Australia, Kathy Mitchell, announced today that the results of the 2014 WA Senate election will be known tomorrow afternoon (Tuesday 29 April).

Ms Mitchell said she had advised candidates that the distribution of preferences to decide six WA Senators will commence at approximately 2pm Australian Western Standard time (4pm Australian Eastern Standard Time).

"In accordance with electoral procedures, candidates have been invited to appoint scrutineers to observe the process on their behalf," Ms Mitchell said.

A national media statement will be issued shortly following the distribution of preferences announcing the outcome. Arrangements for the formal declaration of the WA Senate poll will also be advised.

Editor's notes:

In keeping with the protocol for Senate distributions of preferences, media are not admitted to witness the computerised distribution process, but will be able to attend the venue for advice of the outcome. The result may be known any time from approximately 2:30pm AWST (4:30pm AEST).

Details for media attending:

Where: 116 Roe St, Northbridge. Venue set back from street front – see signs
Time: 2pm commencement
Parking: Paid parking on Roe St or in James St. Private car park unavailable and enforces parking restrictions
AEC interviews: Phil Diak (at location).

Detailed information about the distribution of preferences will be posted to the AEC's Virtual Tally Room as soon it is available late Tuesday afternoon AWST (evening AEST). When available, a link to the detailed report will be tweeted from the AEC twitter account.